Hats and Cats

Lately I’ve been working on some knitted hats. They’re great projects for when I don’t feel like thinking about anything too much, because the patterns tend to be fairly straightforward, and they’re finished quickly. They’re also easy to grab and go, and I don’t have to worry about needing complicated notions. Sometimes I don’t even need to grab the pattern.

small-20141208-008

(Graham by Jennifer Adams)

A friend of mine works at a cancer research hospital. They have a hat box for patients to take hats from. I had some time where I didn’t want to commit to starting a major project (or finishing one… there’s a sleeveless cabled sweater sitting around that definitely isn’t going to get done before it warms up), plus I wanted to make a stronger effort to give back and think about others. So I knitted some hats to put in the box.

small-20150120-001

(Turn A Square by Jared Flood)

Apparently they were well received. I used my favorite workhorse hat yarn, Ultra Alpaca by Berroco. (I can never remember how to spell Berroco right! I have to look it up every time.) It’s a sturdy, worsted-weight wool/alpaca yarn in a nice range of colors. It’s not too expensive and, despite not claiming any merino in the content, it’s not itchy. (Or at least, no one’s complained to me about it being itchy.) It’s my go-to for “manly” knits, or if I need the yarn to be warm but not fancy.

small-20150120-004

(Lucky Seven by weezalana)

Nothing was too tricky about these hats, except that Lucky Seven (which I’ve made before) turned out really small (…again.) I’m not sure what it is about the pattern—I guess it must be some combination of ribbing (which does stretch) and cables (which don’t stretch much.) I made my last hat of this round on the same number of stitches, 96, and I even used a larger needle on Lucky Seven, hoping it would help. It didn’t. It can compensate a bit in width since it has extra length, because it’s designed for a flip-up brim. I hope it goes to someone with a small head, but since I didn’t make it for a specific person, it should be fine.

small-20150125-031

(Windschief by Stephen West)

No, that’s a lie. I did originally make the Lucky Seven hat for someone, but decided to put it in the donation pile after it turned out so small. Then I made Windschief for the original hat recipient. It was made for a coworker I’ve worked with for ages and become good friends with. He asked me for a hat quite a while back, and I told him I wouldn’t make him one, but reconsidered shortly after. I wanted to have this done by Christmas, but my wrists were in a very bad tendinitis flare-up, so it didn’t happen. Now it’s done, and it should still be useful for a while this season before the winter disappears. (Not a moment too soon.)

Meanwhile, back at the ranch, I finally got some high-quality pictures of Miss Luna. This was on account of finally bringing my camera gear home (I shoot product photos for my dad’s business, so my kit had a long holiday at my parents’ house.) This picture really illustrates why I call her Dragon Eyes…

small-20150125-003

Yes, her eyes really look like that in person.

And this is why I call her Grumpy Face.

small-20150125-008

To wrap up, let me show you something that ties everything together. This is a little kitty hat I originally made for my cousin, but it turns out babies have much gianter heads than you’d expect! so I made a bigger one for my cousin and put this aside. Then my best friend had a very tiny baby, and they like cats, and they even have a white cat! Match made in heaven.

small-20141221-009

I have some sewing coming up to show you all, but I need to get that aforementioned camera gear out first. Until then… may your heads be warm, and take all the sleeps you can get.

2 thoughts on “Hats and Cats

  1. Rii the Wordsmith says:

    Aw, that’s such a good picture of the little one!

    And Luna, wow.

    I’m perpetually amazed at how much you’re able to do – one tiny crochet project takes me ages but in addition to everything else you’re able to produce hats like a magical hat fairy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

